



STACFAD WP 23-05 [Agenda item 09]

#### 45th ANNUAL MEETING - SEPTEMBER 2023

# NAFO Internship Program (Prepared by the NAFO Secretariat)

### **NAFO Internship Program**

Due to the recent changeover of NAFO Secretariat staff (incoming Executive Secretary, Fisheries Management Coordinator and the Fisheries Information Administrator), the NAFO internship program was paused for 2023 to allow for the transition.

The NAFO Secretariat continues to explore methods in which to provide meaningful work to ensure the program continues to be mutually beneficial for the NAFO Secretariat and the intern. At the Scientific Council Meeting in June 2023, the internship program was discussed to identify future project(s) that the intern may assist with and that would also be beneficial to the work of the Scientific Council.

The NAFO Secretariat anticipates reopening the program in 2024.

## **Background Information**

At the 2011 Annual Meeting, the NAFO Internship Program was adopted by the Organization to commence its activities in 2012. The NAFO Internship Program allows students, post-graduates or early career individuals from NAFO member countries to work in the NAFO Secretariat as an intern for periods of up to six (6) months. Interns can gain experience and knowledge in operations of NAFO as an intergovernmental organization while the NAFO Secretariat can benefit through the presence of an additional professional and their capacity and knowledge. The Secretariat reports annually to STACFAD on the internship process.

#### Summary of Interns hosted at the Secretariat since inception

Since the NAFO Internship Program was introduced, the Secretariat has received applications from Canada, Denmark (in respect of Faroe Islands and Greenland), European Union, Japan, Norway, Russia and the USA.

| 2019/2020 | European Union (Sweden)                  | Anna Wall                     |
|-----------|--|-------------------------------|
| 2019      | Canada/Spain                             | Javier Guijarro Sabaniel      |
| 2018      | Denmark (in respect of the Faroe Islands | Sebastian Glindtvad           |
|           | and Greenland)                           |                               |
|           | European Union (France)                  | Antoine Balazuc               |
| 2017      | USA                                      | Jessica Randall               |
| 2016      | Norway                                   | Martha Astrup                 |
|           | Japan                                    | Yumi Okochi                   |
| 2015      | European Union (Croatia)                 | Toni Bartulin                 |
| 2014      | European Union (Italy)                   | Maria Elvira (Mariel) Murazzi |

| 2013 | Russian Federation              | Viktoria Egochina |
|------|---------------------------------|-------------------|
|      | European Union (United Kingdom) | Thomas Reilly     |
| 2012 | USA                             | Erica Kidd        |
|      | Canada                          | Geneviève Scott   |