1. Home
  2. About us
  3. Fisheries
  4. Science
  5. Library
  6. Data
  7. Meetings
  8. Contact
  9. Members' Pages LOGIN

1980 - St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada

The Second Annual Meeting took place at the Hotel Newfoundland, St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada during 3-12 September.

Quota Table for 1980

Meting Proceedings of General Council and Fisheries Commission 1980

Scientific Council Reports 1979-80

Other Meetings included:

Scientific Council

  • 5-13 February, Hotel Altis, Lisbon, Portugal
    To provide advice for 1980 on the conservation of the cod stocks in 3M and 3NO, silver hake in 4VWX, capelin in 2+3 and squid (Illex) in 3+4
  • 3-13 June, NAFO Headquarters, Dartmouth, NS, Canada
    Regular meeting on stock assessments
  •  3-4 September, St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
    Task force on the larval herring program with M. D. Grosslein (USA) as convenor
  • 18-22 November, NAFO Headquarters, Dartmouth, NS, Canada
    To provide advice for 1981 on the conservation of shrimp stocks in Subareas 0 and 1 and of harp and hooded seal stocks in the Northwest Atlantic

Standing Committee on Finance and Adminsitration (STACFAD)

  •  4-7 March, Sutton Place Hotel, Toronto, ON, Canada
    To appoint a new Executive Secretary

Standing Committee on International Control (STACTIC)

  • 4-7 March, Sutton Place Hotel, Toronto, ON, Canada
    To fix catch quotas during 1981 for cod in 3M, cod in 3NO, capelin in 3LNO and squid in 3+4

Officers of the Organization:

General Council
A. W. May, Assistant Deputy Minister,
Atlantic Fisheries (Canada)
President of the organization and
Chairman of the General Council
V. K. Zilanov (USSR) Vice-Chairman of the General Council
D. E Pethick (Canada) Chairman of STACFAD
Scientific Council
R. H. Letaconnoux (EEC) Chairman of the Scientific Council
R. G. Halliday (Canada) Vice-Chairman of the Scientific Council and Chairman of STACPUB
G. H. Winters (Canada) Chairman of STACFIS
A. S. Seliverstov (USSR) Chairman of STACREC
Fisheries Commission
J. C. E. Cardoso (Portugal) Chairman of the Fisheries Commission (to 1 June)
J. Farnell (EEC) Chairman of the Fisheries Commission (from 1 June)
J. Farnell (EEC) Vice-Chairman of the Fisheries Commission (to 1 June)
H. Rasmussen (Norway) Vice-Chairman of the Fisheries Commission (to 1 June)
A. S. Gaspar (Portugal) Chairman of STACTIC
Executive Secretary
L. R. Day to June 30
J. C. E. Cardoso from 1 July

Contracting Parties (and dates):

Bulgaria (6 June 1979) Canada (30 November 1978)
Cuba (22 December 1978) Denmark (in respect of the Faroe Islands and Greenland (30 May 1979)
European Economic Community (EEC) 
(28 December 1978)
German Democratic Republic (GDR)
(28 December 1978)
Iceland (29 December 1978) Japan (4 January 1980)
Norway (28 December 1978) Poland (6 November 1979)
Portugal (27 May 1979) Romania (5 March 1979)
Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR)
(27 December 1978)

Contact us

Northwest Atlantic Fisheries Organization
Summit Place
1601 Lower Water Street 
Suite 401
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Canada B3J 3P6

Tel: +1 902 468-5590