NAFO Convention Area

The NAFO Convention Area encompasses a large portion of the Atlantic Ocean and includes the 200-mile zones of Coastal States jurisdiction (USA, Canada, St. Pierre et Miquelon and Greenland). The total area under NAFO’s Convention is 6,551,289 km2.

Management by NAFO, however, applies only to the areas straddling and outside the EEZs (Exclusive Economic Zones). This is known as NAFO’s Regulatory Area (NRA) and is 2,707,895 km2.


Permission to use the map for non-commercial purposes is permitted as long as credit is used, as indicated below:

©Northwest Atlantic Fisheries Organization

If you would like to have a print of the map (Size: 15.5" x 24"), please contact the Secretariat and we will make arrangements to send the map(s).

If you would like to use your preferred printer, download the high resolution maps in a pdf or vector file.

Download map (300 dpi)

General Info

NAFO is an intergovernmental fisheries science and management body. NAFO was founded in 1979 as a successor to ICNAF (International Commission of the Northwest Atlantic Fisheries) (1949-1978). The objective of this Convention is to ensure the long term conservation and sustainable use of the fishery resources in the Convention Area and, in so doing, to safeguard the marine ecosystems in which these resources are found.

The NAFO Convention on Cooperation in the Northwest Atlantic Fisheries applies to most fishery resources of the Northwest Atlantic except salmon, tunas/marlins, whales, and sedentary species (e.g. shellfish). 

Currently NAFO has 12 Contracting Parties, and the following structure:

To find out about NAFO's working groups, click here WORKING GROUPS

Contact us

Northwest Atlantic Fisheries Organization
2 Morris Drive, Suite 100
(Burnside Industrial Park)
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Canada B3B 1K8

Tel: +1 902 468-5590
Fax: +1 902 468-5538