1. Home
  2. About us
  3. Fisheries
  4. Science
  5. Library
  6. Data
  7. Meetings
  8. Contact
  9. Members' Pages LOGIN


The annual meeting took place at the Holiday Inn, Dartmouth, NS, Canada during 19-23 September.

Quota Table for 1994

Meeting Proceedings of the General Council and Fisheries Commission 1994

Scientific Council Reports 1994

Other Meetings included:

Scientific Council

  • 13-15 February, DG XIV Building and Albert Borschette Conference Centre, Brussels, Belgium
    To conduct an updated stock assessment of cod in Div. 3NO and to provide catch options for 1994
    7-21 June, NAFO Headquarters, Dartmouth, N.S., Canada
    Regular meeting on stock assessments
  • 15-16 September, NAFO Headquarters, Dartmouth, N.S., Canada
    Symposium on "Impact of Anomalous Oceanographic Conditions at the Beginning of the 1990s in the Northwest Atlantic on the Distribution and Behaviour of Marine Life", with M. Sinclair (Canada) and M. Stein (EU–Germany) as co-conveners
  • 18-21 November, NAFO Headquarters, Dartmouth, N.S., Canada
    To conduct assessments on shrimp in Subareas 0 and 1, and Denmark Strait.

Fisheries Commission/STACTIC

  • 14-17 February, Albert Borschette Conference Centre, Brussels, Belgium
    Special Meeting to review an Observer Scheme Pilot Project and other conservation measures.
  • 30 August-1 September, NAFO Headquarters, Dartmouth, N.S., Canada
    STACTIC meeting on Observer Scheme Pilot Project.

Officers of the Organization

General Council
E. Lemche (Denmark in respect of Faroe Islands and Greenland) President of the organization and
Chairman of the General Council
A. Rodin (Russia) Vice-Chairman of the General Council
J. Quintal-McGrath (Canada) Chair of STACFAD
E. Penas (EU) Vice-Chair of STACFAD
C. C. Southgate (EEC) Chair of STACFAC
B. Garcia Moreno (Cuba) Vice-Chair of STACFAC
Scientific Council
H. Lassen (Denmark in respect of Faroe Islands and Greenland) Chairman of the Scientific Council
W. R. Bowering (Canada) Vice-Chairman of the Scientific Council and Chairman of STACPUB
H. P. Cornus (EU) (to 23 September) Chairman of STACFIS
W. B. Brodie (Canada) (from 23 September)
C. A. Bishop (Canada) Chairman of STACREC
Fisheries Commission
H. Koster (EU) Chairman of the Fisheries Commission
P. Gullestad (Norway) Vice-Chairman of the Fisheries Commission
D. Brock (Canada) Chairman of STACTIC
Executive Secretary
L. I. Chepel

Contracting Parties (and dates):

Bulgaria (6 June 1979) Canada (30 November 1978)
Cuba (22 December 1978) Denmark (in respect of the Faroe Islands and Greenland (30 May 1979)
Estonia (31 August 1992) European Union (EU) (28 December 1978)
Iceland (29 December 1978) Japan (4 January 1980)
Republic of Korea (21 December 1993) Latvia (28 August 1992)
Lithuania (18 August 1992) Norway (28 December 1978)
Poland (6 November 1979) Romania (5 March 1979)
Russian Federation (successor of USSR)
(1 January 1992)


Contact us

Northwest Atlantic Fisheries Organization
Summit Place
1601 Lower Water Street 
Suite 401
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Canada B3J 3P6

Tel: +1 902 468-5590