1. Home
  2. About us
  3. Fisheries
  4. Science
  5. Library
  6. Data
  7. Meetings
  8. Contact
  9. Members' Pages LOGIN


The Annual Meeting scheduled to take place during 17-21 September in Varadero, Cuba was cancelled due the unfortunate events that took place in the USA on September 11. The Scientific Council was able to accomplish their tasks due to the arrival of the main body of scientists at the proceeding Symposium. The General Council and Fisheries Commission convened 29 January-01 February 2002.

Quota Table for 2001

Meeting Proceedings of the General Council and Fisheries Commission 2001

Scientific Council Reports 2001

Other Meetings included:

General Council/STACFAC

  • 12-14 June, NAFO Headquarters, Dartmouth, NS, Canada
    Meeting of the Working Group on Dispute Settlement Procedures (DSP)

Fisheries Commission/STACTIC

  • 18-19 January, Brussels, Belgium
    STACTIC Technical Working Group on Communications
  • 13-14 February, Reykjavik, Iceland
    NAFO/NEAFC Working Group on Oceanic Redfish
  • 27 March, Copenhagen, Denmark
    Fisheries Commission Working Group on Statistics
  • 28-30 March, Copenhagen, Denmark
    Special Fisheries Commission Meeting
  • 1-3 May, Ottawa, ON, Canada
    STACTIC Working Group to overhaul the NAFO Conservation and Enforcement Measures
  • 26-28 June, Halifax, NS, Canada
    STACTIC Meeting

Scientific Council

  • 31 May-14 June, Alderney Landing, Dartmouth, N.S., Canada
    Regular meeting on stock assessments
  • 12-14 September, Varadero, Cuba
    Symposium on "Deep Sea Fisheries" convenors: J. A. Moore (NAFO), J. D. M. Gordon (ICES), A. Koslow (CSIRO)
  • 7-14 November, NAFO Headquarters, Dartmouth, NS, Canada
    To conduct assessments on shrimp in Division 3M, Divisons 3LNO, Subareas 0 and 1, and Denmark Strait.

Officers of the Organization

General Council
E. Oltuski (Cuba)  President of the organization and
Chairman of the General Council
P. Chamut (Canada) Vice-Chairman of the General Council
G. F. Kingston (EU) Chair of STACFAD
J.-P. Plé (USA) Vice-Chair of STACFAD
D. Silvestre (France in respect of St. Pierre et Miquelon)) Chair of STACFAC
N. Bouffard (Canada) Vice-Chair of STACFAC
Scientific Council
W. B. Brodie (Canada) (to 20 September) Chairman of the Scientific Council
R. Mayo (USA) (from 20 September)  
R. Mayo (USA) (to 20 September) Vice-Chairman of the Scientific Council and Chairman of STACREC
M. J. Morgan (Canada) (from 20 September)  
H. J. Rätz (EU) (to 20 September) Chairman of STACFIS
D. E. Stansbury (Canada) (from 20 September)  
O. A. Jorgensen (Denmark/Greenland) (to 20 September) Chairman of STACPUB
M. Stein (EU) (from 20 September)  
M. Stein (EU) (to 20 September) Chairman of STACFEN
E. Colbourne (Canada) (from 20 September)  
Fisheries Commission
P. Gullestad (Norway) Chairman of the Fisheries Commission
D. Swanson (USA) Vice-Chairman of the Fisheries Commission
D. Bevan (Canada) Chairman of STACTIC
Executive Secretary
L. I. Chepel  















Contracting Parties (and dates):

Bulgaria (6 June 1979) Canada (30 November 1978)
Cuba (22 December 1978) Denmark (in respect of the Faroe Islands and Greenland (30 May 1979)
Estonia (31 August 1992) European Union (EU) 
(28 December 1978)
France (in repect of ST. Pierre et Miquelon)
(14 Augsut 1996)
Iceland (29 December 1978)
Japan (4 January 1980) Republic of Korea (21 December 1993)
Latvia (28 August 1992) Lithuania (18 August 1992)
Norway (28 December 1978) Poland (6 November 1979)
Romania (5 March 1979) Russian Federation (successor of USSR)
(1 January 1992)
Ukraine (30 August 1999) United States of America (29 November 1995)


Contact us

Northwest Atlantic Fisheries Organization
Summit Place
1601 Lower Water Street 
Suite 401
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Canada B3J 3P6

Tel: +1 902 468-5590