1. Home
  2. About us
  3. Fisheries
  4. Science
  5. Library
  6. Data
  7. Meetings
  8. Contact
  9. Members' Pages LOGIN


The Annual Meeting was held at the Galicia Congress and Exhibition in Santiago de Compostela, Galicia, Spain during 16-20 September.

Quota Table for 2002

Press Release

Meeting Proceedings of the General Council and Fisheries Commission, 2002

Other Meetings included:

Special Meetings

  • 29 January-1 February, Helsingør, Denmark
    General Council and Fisheries Commission in the framework of the 23rd Annual Meeting
    Press Release

Fisheries Commission/STACTIC

  • 6-9 May, Copenhagen, Denmark
    STACTIC Meeting
  • 20-21 June, Ramada Inn, Dartmouth, NS, Canada
    Working Group of Technical Experts on Precautionary Approach
  • 24-25 June, Ramada Inn, Dartmouth, NS, Canada
    Working Group on Management of Ocenaic Redfish
  • 9-11 July, Ottawa, ON, Canada
    STACTIC Drafting Group to Overhaul Conservation and Enforcement Measures

Scientific Council

Scientific Council Reports 2002

  • 6-20 June, Alderney Landing, Dartmouth, N.S., Canada
    Regular meeting on stock assessments
  • 11-13 September, Galicia Congress and Exhibition, Santiago de Compostela, Galicia, Spain
    Symposium "Elasmobranch Fisheries: Managing for Sustainable Use and Biodiversity Conservation" convenors: D. Kulka (DFO, NAFO), J. A. Musick (VIMS, co-chair, IUCN Elasmobranch Dpecies Specialist Group), M. Pawson (CEFAS) and T. Walker (MAFRI)
  • 6-13 November, Greenland Institute of Natural Resources, Nuuk, Greenland
    To conduct assessments on shrimp in Division 3M, Divisions 3LNO, Subareas 0 and 1, and Denmark Strait.

Officers of the Organization

General Council
E. Oltuski (Cuba)  President of the organization and
Chairman of the General Council
P. Chamut (Canada) Vice-Chairman of the General Council
G. F. Kingston (EU) Chair of STACFAD
J.-P. Plé (USA) (to 1 February) Vice-Chair of STACFAD
D. Warner-Kramer (USA) (from 1 February)  
D. Silvestre (France in respect of St. Pierre et Miquelon) Chair of STACFAC
N. Bouffard (Canada) Vice-Chair of STACFAC
Scientific Council
R. Mayo (USA) Chairman of the Scientific Council
M. J. Morgan (Canada) Vice-Chairman of the Scientific Council and Chairman of STACREC
D. E. Stansbury (Canada) Chairman of STACFIS
M. Stein (EU) Chairman of STACPUB
E. Colbourne (Canada) Chairman of STACFEN
Fisheries Commission
D. Swanson (USA) Chairman of the Fisheries Commission
B. F. Prischepa (Russia) Vice-Chairman of the Fisheries Commission
D. Bevan (Canada) Chairman of STACTIC
Executive Secretary
L. I. Chepel  













Contracting Parties (and dates):

Bulgaria (6 June 1979) Canada (30 November 1978)
Cuba (22 December 1978) Denmark (in respect of the Faroe Islands and Greenland (30 May 1979)
Estonia (31 August 1992) European Union (EU) (28 December 1978)
France (in respect of St. Pierre et Miquelon)
(14 August 1996)
Iceland (29 December 1978)
Japan (4 January 1980) Republic of Korea (21 December 1993)
Latvia (28 August 1992) Lithuania (18 August 1992)
Norway (28 December 1978) Poland (6 November 1979)
Romania (5 March 1979) Russian Federation (successor of USSR)
(1 January 1992)
Ukraine (30 August 1999) United States of America (29 November 1995)


Contact us

Northwest Atlantic Fisheries Organization
Summit Place
1601 Lower Water Street 
Suite 401
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Canada B3J 3P6

Tel: +1 902 468-5590