1. Home
  2. About us
  3. Fisheries
  4. Science
  5. Library
  6. Data
  7. Meetings
  8. Contact
  9. Members' Pages LOGIN


The annual meeting took place at the Holiday Inn, Dartmouth, NS, Canada 19-23 September

Quota Table for 2006

Press Release

Meeting Proceedings of the General Council and Fisheries Commission

Other Meetings included:

General Council/STACFAC

  • 25-28 April, Montreal, QC, Canada
    Meeting of the Working Group on the Reform of NAFO
  • 12-15 September, Lunenburg Co., NS, Canada
    Meeting of the Working Group on the Reform of NAFO

Fisheries Commission/STACTIC

  • 12-15 June, Copenhagen, Denmark
    Meeting of the Standing Committee on International Control (STACTIC)

Scientific Council

Scientific Council Reports 2006

  • 1-15 June, Alderney Landing, Dartmouth, N.S., Canada
    Regular meeting on stock assessments
  • 13-15 September, Holiday Inn, Dartmouth, NS, Canada
    Symposium on "Environmental and Ecosystem Histories in the Northwest Atlantic - What Influences Living Marine Resources" convenors: Bill Brodie (Canada), Jason Link (USA), Helle Siegstad (Denmark-Greenland) and Manfred Stein (EU-Germany)
  • 25 October - 2 November, ICES Headquarters, Copenhagen, Denmark
    To conduct assessments on shrimp in Division 3M, Subareas 0 and 1, and Denmark Strait.

Officers of the Organization

General Council
David Bevan (Canada)  President of the organization and
Chairman of the General Council
Terje Lobach (Norway) Vice-Chairman of the General Council
G. Fred Kingston (EU) Chair of STACFAD
F. Schmidt (Denmark in respect of Faroe Islands & Greenland) Vice-Chair of STACFAD
Vacant Chair of STACFAC
Gene Martin (USA) Vice-Chair of STACFAC
Scientific Council
Antonio Vazquez (EU) Chairman of the Scientific Council
Konstantin Gorchinsky (Russian Federation)  
Konstantin Gorchinsky (Russian Federation) Vice-Chairman of the Scientific Council and Chairman of STACREC
Don Power (Canada) Chairman of STACFIS
Manfred Stein (EU) Chairman of STACPUB
Eugene Colbourne (Canada) Chairman of STACFEN
Fisheries Commission
Vladimir Shibanov (Russian Federation) Chairman of the Fisheries Commission
Kolbein Arnason (Iceland) Vice-Chairman of the Fisheries Commission
Mads Nedergaard (Denmark in respect of Faroe Islands & Greenland) (June 2006) Chairman of STACTIC
Executive Secretary
Johanne Fischer  














Contracting Parties (and dates):

Bulgaria (6 June 1979) Canada (30 November 1978)
Cuba (22 December 1978) Denmark (in respect of the Faroe Islands and Greenland (30 May 1979)
European Union (EU) 
(28 December 1978)
France (in respect of St. Pierre et Miquelon) (14 August 1996)
Iceland (29 December 1978) Japan (4 January 1980)
Norway (28 December 1978) Republic of Korea (21 December 1993)
Romania (5 March 1979) Russian Federation (successor of USSR)
(1 January 1992)
Ukraine (30 August 1999) United States of America (29 November 1995)


Contact us

Northwest Atlantic Fisheries Organization
Summit Place
1601 Lower Water Street 
Suite 401
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Canada B3J 3P6

Tel: +1 902 468-5590