1. Home
  2. About us
  3. Fisheries
  4. Science
  5. Library
  6. Data
  7. Meetings
  8. Contact
  9. Members' Pages LOGIN


The annual meeting took place at the Ottawa Congress Centre, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada during 12-16 September.

Quota Table for 1988

Meeting Proceedings of General Council and Fisheries Commission 1988

Scientific Council Reports 1988

Other Meetings included:

Scientific Council

  • 8-23 June, NAFO Headquarters, Dartmouth, N.S., Canada
    Regular meeting on stock assessments
  • 7-8 September, NAFO Headquarters, Dartmouth, N.S., Canada
    Special Session on "Impact of changes in environmental conditions in the North Atlantic on distribution, availability and abundance of marine species, with particular emphasis on the Northwest Atlantic in early 1980's", with J. C. Rice (Canada) as convener.

Standing Committee on International Control (STACTIC)

  • 8-10 February, Albert Broschette Conference Centre, Brussels, Belgium
    To consider a revised Scheme of Joint International Enforcement.

Officers of the Organization

General Council
F. Hartung (GDR) President of the organization and
Chairman of the General Council
K. Hoydal (Denmark in respect of Faroe Islands and Greenland) Vice-Chairman of the General Council
D. E. Pethick (Canada) (to 12 September) Chair of STACFAD
M. Ibbotson (EU) (from 12 September)
Scientific Council
J. Beckett (Canada) Chairman of the Scientific Council
Sv. Aa. Horsted (Denmark in respect of Faroe Islands and Greenland) Vice-Chairman of the Scientific Council and Chairman of STACPUB
A. Maucorps (EU) (to 16 September) Chairman of STACFIS
H. Lassen (Denmark in respect of Faroe Islands and Greenland) (from 16 September)
A. Vazquez (EU) Chairman of STACREC
Fisheries Commission
K. Yonezawa (Japan) Chairman of the Fisheries Commission
J. Zygmanowski (Poland) Vice-Chairman of the Fisheries Commission
R. J. Prier (Canada) Chairman of STACTIC
Executive Secretary
J. C. E. Cardoso

Contracting Parties (and dates):

Bulgaria (6 June 1979) Canada (30 November 1978)
Cuba (22 December 1978) Denmark (in respect of the Faroe Islands and Greenland (30 May 1979)
European Economic Community (EEC) 
(28 December 1978)
German Democratic Republic (GDR)
(28 December 1978)
Iceland (29 December 1978) Japan (4 January 1980)
Norway (28 December 1978) Poland (6 November 1979)
Romania (5 March 1979) Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR)
(27 December 1978)


Contact us

Northwest Atlantic Fisheries Organization
Summit Place
1601 Lower Water Street 
Suite 401
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Canada B3J 3P6

Tel: +1 902 468-5590